Photo credit: Peggy Peattie / San Diego Union-Tribune (Credit Image: © Peggy Peattie/San Diego Union-Tribune via ZUMA Wire)


We deeply appreciate the organizations and individuals for their contributions to the plan, and the hundreds of community members who shared stories and ideas.

We especially thank the teams at New American Economy and Welcoming America for their coaching, expertise and funding. We are grateful for the generous support from the California Endowment, and the anchor institutions that have made this initiative possible.

Anchor Institutions


Consultants & Contributors

Mejgan Afshan CAIR San Diego
Kathi Anderson Survivors of Torture, International
Amanda Bergson-Shilcock National Skills Coalition
Andrew Blum University of San Diego
Kate Brick New American Economy
Peter Brownell Center on Policy Initiatives
Meenakshi Chakraverti RISE San Diego
Jeffrey Davis San Diego Public Library
Els de Graauw City University of New York
Sean Elo San Diego Youth Development Office
Molly Fee UCLA
Sasha Feldstein California Immigrant Policy Center
Julia Fleury University of San Diego
Melissa Floca UC San Diego
Diane Forbes Berthoud RISE San Diego
Monica Fuentes Welcoming America
Ellen Gallagher Harvard Kennedy School
Ryan Ginard San Diego Grantmakers
Westerly Gorayeb New American Economy
Ian Gordon United Way
Felicia Gomez California Immigrant Policy Center
Zachary Green RISE San Diego
Danielle Grigsby Refugee Council USA
Itzel Guillen Alliance San Diego
James Halliday A Reason To Survive (ARTS)
Heather Hansen International Rescue Committee
Mahvash Hassan Institute for Local Government
Bettina Hausman United Nations Association-USA San Diego
Shana Hazan Jewish Family Services
Michelle Jaramillo Partners for Progress

Deborah Kang CSU San Marcos
Jeremiah Kim Organizational Consultant
Andrea Kiss Duke University
Alan Kwok San Diego Grantmakers
An Le City of Boston
Trinh Le Center on Policy Initiatives
Mark Leo SEIU Local 221
Charles Lu UC San Diego
Zulma Maciel City of San Jose
Colin Mathewson St. Luke’s Episcopal Church North Park
Natalie Maroun San Diego Diplomacy Council
John Mollenkopf City University of New York
Bob Morris San Diego International Affairs Board
Eric Morrison-Smith San Diego Workforce Partnership
Hilda Mwangi World Trade Center San Diego
Allison Ohle KIPP San Diego
Rhonda Ortiz University of Southern California
Manuel Pastor University of Southern California
Karthick Ramakrishnan UC Riverside
Ferchil Ramos ACLU of San Diego & Imperial Counties
Nichole Riordan University of San Diego
Karina Shklyan UC San Diego
John Skrentny UC San Diego
Andrew Simmerman RISE San Diego
Cynthia Suero-Gabler Civic San Diego
Joaquin Uy City of Seattle
Daniel Valdez Welcoming America
Brooke Valle San Diego Workforce Partnership
Tony Young RISE San Diego
Kenia Zamarripa SD Regional Chamber of Commerce